Great Hymns and their Writers

The title of this series of podcasts describes exactly what they are about, “Great Hymns and their Writers”. We look at what each writer was teaching in the words of their hymn while at the same time learning about the writer. The series first appeared in print between 1970 and 1979 in the Wicket Gate Magazine and were written by W. J. Seaton.

“Jesus Lover of my Soul”
by Charles Wesley

“What various hindrances we meet”
by William Cowper

“The Sands of time are sinking”
by Ann Ross Cousins

“Glory to Thee, my God, this night”
by Thomas Ken

“Forever with the Lord! Amen, so let it be!”
by James Montgomery

“A safe stronghold our God is still”
by Martin Luther

“There is a Land of Pure Delight”
by Isaac Watts

“From Whence this Fear and Unbelief”
by Augustus Toplady

“Who would true valour see”
by John Bunyan

“God moves in a mysterious way”
by William Cowper

“Amazing grace! (how sweet the sound!)”
by John Newton

“Rock of Ages”
by Augustus Toplady

“Jehovah Tsidkenu”
by Robert Murray McCheyne